Welcome to the Devonshire Dome
The original stables and crescent on the site were commissioned in 1785 on behalf of the reigning Duke of Devonshire, as part of a wider plan to promote Buxton as a spa town.
In 1858 two thirds of the building were converted into a hospital – the remaining third stayed as stables until 1881 when it was fully converted to a hospital with its unmistakably spectacular dome.
For a time, this dome was the largest unsupported dome in the world.
Once the stables were fully converted into a hospital, more changes were made – the clock tower and lodge were built in 1882, surgical wards were built in 1897, baths were built in 1913 and the dining room and kitchens were built in 1921.
The building became known as the Devonshire Royal Hospital in 1934.
In 2001 the University of Derby acquired the Devonshire Royal Hospital and the Devonshire Dome became a University campus.
The University received £5.9m Heritage Lottery Fund backing for the project and redevelopment work has started on site.
The stunning venue is open to the public and used extensively for prestigious conferences, events and weddings.